Leasing out your old junk

It once looked like this……. some cars must die, that others can live on

How do you make more money from your crapped out parts cars.  Why you lease them out of course.  This is not what really happened but it could be argued in a roundabout sort of way.  When I bought Sassbubble (see the story here) my wife was less than impressed.  I was originally offered the bumper bars off the car for $500, or the whole car for $900.  No brainer really. 

We collected what was an effectively complete car but in pretty sorry condition and with part of the engine removed it was going to be quite an uphill battle to ever get it going again.  I grabbed a number of parts to fit to my E30, interior trim parts, lights, the front bumper bar, dash instruments and bonnet and boot badges and several other items.

Even my son grabbed some parts, most notably drive shaft bolts and door handle parts.

The car was sitting waiting for the next foraging expedition when my father unexpectedly announced that he was talking to a former work colleague who’s son was trying to rebuild an E30 in her driveway.  I offered any assistance I could, and it wasn’t long before I was being pressured to get rid of the car completely anyway.  We met and arranged a deal that would work for both of us.  He could have the car for a fairly low price which should give him all the parts needed to get an E30 running.  My wife was happy because the car was gone and other items could be stored in that shed. Win Win.

Last time.

Fast forward 12 months.  The guy who bought the car has removed what he has needed and my wife has been pushing me to raise my car slightly as the lowered suspension is particularly hard riding and the car scrapes on speedhumps.  Suddenly there is a parts car going for nothing that has the suspension components I need to keep the peace.  BONUS!
I have also been fiddling with the airconditioning unit in my car and just maybe the parts I need are still in the car?  My son is also thinking about what he needs to make his car pretty too.

So I sold the car for very little and then I get it back for considerably less. I hope it worked for Liam and I hope it is going to work for me a second time. Even if the only parts I can salvage are the suspension components I need, then I am going to be very happy.

Certainly in need of……… further dismantling

Leave a comment